Showing posts with label 2022 Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2022 Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, May 13, 2022

The Innocents (2022) - Movie Review


The Movie: The Innocents

The Director: Eskil Vogt

The Cast: Rakel Lenora Fløttum, Alva Brynsmo Ramstad, Mina Yasmin Bremseth Asheim, Sam Ashraf, Ellen Dorrit Pedersen, Morten Svartveit, Kadra Yusuf, Lisa Tønne

The Story: During the bright Nordic summer, a group of children reveal their dark and mysterious powers when the adults aren't looking.

Friday, May 6, 2022

Doctor Strange In the Multiverse of Madness - Movie Review


The Movie: Doctor Strange In the Multiverse of Madness

The Director: Sam Raimi

The Cast: Benedict Cumberbatch, Elizabeth Olsen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Benedict Wong, Xochitl Gomez, Michael Stühlbarg, Rachel McAdams

The Story: Dr. Stephen Strange casts a forbidden spell that opens the doorway to the multiverse, including alternate versions of himself, whose threat to humanity is too great for the combined forces of Strange, Wong, and Wanda Maximoff.

Thursday, April 28, 2022

The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent - Movie Review


The Movie: The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

The Director: Tom Gormican

The Cast: Nicolas Cage, Tiffany Haddish, Pedro Pascal, Sharon Horgan, Lily Mo Sheen, Neil Patrick Harris

The Story: A cash-strapped Nicolas Cage agrees to make a paid appearance at a billionaire super fan's birthday party, but is really an informant for the CIA since the billionaire fan is a drug kingpin and gets cast in a Tarantino movie.

Thursday, April 21, 2022

The Northman - Movie Review


The Movie: The Northman

The Director: Robert Eggers

The Cast: Alexander Skarsgård, Nicole Kidman, Claes Bang, Anya Taylor-Joy, Björk, Willem Dafoe

The Story: From visionary director Robert Eggers comes The Northman, an action-filled epic that follows a young Viking prince on his quest to avenge his father's murder.

Friday, April 15, 2022

Infinite Storm - Movie Review


The Movie: Infinite Storm

The Director: Małgorzata Szumowska

The Cast: Naomi Watts, Billy Howle, Denis O'Hare, Parker Sawyers

The Story: When a climber gets caught in a blizzard, she encounters a stranded stranger and must get them both down the mountain before nightfall.

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

Studio 666 - Movie Review


The Movie: Studio 666

The Director: Dave Grohl

The Cast: Dave Grohl, Nate Mendel, Pat Smear, Taylor Hawkins, Chris Shiflett
Rami Jaffee, Whitney Cummings, Leslie Grossman, Will Forte, Jenna Ortega, Jeff Garlin

The Story: Legendary rock band Foo Fighters move into an Encino mansion steeped in grisly rock and roll history to record their much anticipated 10th album.

Spiritwalker / 유체이탈자 - Movie Review


The Movie: Spiritwalker / 유체이탈자

The Director: Yoon Jae-keun

The Cast: Yoon Kye-sang, Park Yong-woo, Lim Ji-yeon

The Story: A fantasy action film that revolves around a man who loses his memory and subsequently wakes up in a new body every twelve hours.

Friday, April 8, 2022

Gagarine - Movie Review


The Movie: Gagarine

The Directors: Fanny Liatard and Jérémy Trouilh

The Cast: Alseni Bathily, Lyna Khoudri, Jamil McCraven, Finnegan Oldfield

The Story: A brilliant teenager attempts to save Gagarine Cité, a vast red brick housing project on the outskirts of Paris that he has called home for his entire life.

Sunday, April 3, 2022

6:45 - Movie Review


The Movie: 6:45

The Director: Craig Singer

The Cast: Michael Reed, Augie Duke, Armen Garo, Thomas G. Waites

The Story: What if one of the best days of your life suddenly turned into your very worst nightmare? And what if you were forced to relive that same day again and again?

Friday, April 1, 2022

Everything Everywhere All At Once - Movie Review


The Movie: Everything Everywhere All At Once

The Director: Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert

The Cast: Yeoh, Stephanie Hsu, Ke Huy Quan, Jenny Slate, Harry Shum Jr., James Hong and Jamie Lee Curtis

The Story: An aging Chinese immigrant is swept up in an insane adventure, where she alone can save the world by exploring other universes connecting with the lives she could have led.


The Review:
Every once in a while, a movie comes along that changes the game, creates new possibilities, and gives us something we never knew we needed or wanted. From the moment I first saw the trailer for Everything Everywhere All At Once, I had a feeling it was going to be something special. There are definite parallels and similarities to other movies and yet it is a wholly original work of art that will absolutely blow your mind. If you want comparisons, there are some obvious ones with the MCU and it's newly unraveling multiverse, The Matrix and it's concepts of identity and Neo being "The One", and I'll throw in inception because of how idealized it is as a theatrical experience.

This movie is created by the dynamic directing duo of  Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, collectively known as "The Daniels" and they also wrote the story which is an achievement in and of itself. What they have put together with this movie, the story, the visuals, the chorography, the music, and just everything, is something I don't think will be topped this year and I say that knowing we have Doctor Strange, Spiderverse, and Avatars on the way. It's not that this is a huge spectacle type movie that will make your head explode like those franchises, but it does have elements of each of them and it does them in a way that maintains a contained and intimate story, if that makes sense.

Michelle Yeah is the star of this movie. Let me say that again. Michelle Yeah is the star of this movie. She is the star of the movie in every way a person can be. She absolutely owns everything about her character Evelyn Wang from the high powered martial arts expert fans have always loved her for to the struggling small business owner and failing matriarch that we can more than appreciate as a real life human being. There are so many layers to Evelyn and so much to unpack about her being a businesswoman, a mom, a wife, a mother, a woman, an Asian American, and a human being, every bit of which is somehow explored in fine detail while an insane multiverse story is unfolding around her.

I can't say enough about how good Michelle Yeoh's performance is in this movie because there is just so much being asked of her physically, mentally, emotionally, and every other type of -ally you can think of. She has been a queen in the industry for decades going all the way back to action films and martial arts movies of the early to mid 80's. A lot of people might know her from her roles as Eleanor Young Crazy Rich Asians and Ying Nan in Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, but she's been doing it and doing it big for nearly four decades. I would recommend checking out the Supercop and Heroic Trio franchises to get an idea of how she first burst onto the scene.

From this point forward, it's really hard to explain anything else about the movie or why it is so good because it really starts to go off the rails in the most amazingly wild and entertaining ways. I love how the directors go all in with the multiverse concept and they aren't afraid to just get real weird with it. This is the first time I've seen any movie that involves a multiverse or alternate realities really convey the concept of infinite possibility because if you choose to go down that rabbit hole, every moment, every decision, every action literally has infinite possibilities.

I think at this point it's best to tell you to just go see this movie and prepare for anything to happen because everything does happen and all of it is amazing. Does it get goofy and wacky and insane at times? Absolutely yes and then more on top of that. It's a minor miracle that the filmmakers are able to make sense of everything they throw at you and within that, Evelyn's personal journey as a mom, a wife, and a business owner is fully realized in a very emotional and thought provoking way.

Finally, I will say that the casting all the around is just brilliant and you are going to love Jamie Lee Curtis in this movie, dives head first into a character named Deirdre Beaubeirdra, yes you read that right, and you can tell she had a blast making the movie. Jenny Slate, as Big Nose (yes, you also read that right), is also in the movie and she is hilarious because she's always hilarious but in this movie it's in a very different way than we normally see her and it's just perfect. Legendary actor James Hong is also on board as Evelyn's father along with Stephanie Hsu in a surprisingly fun role as Evelyn's daughter, who is very aptly named Joy. I don't mean surprising because I didn't expect it from her but surprising in ways that you just have to see again because the movie is so bonkers.

On top of all of that brilliant casting, the unsung hero of the movie absolutely goes to Ke Huy Quan who does just about everything and anything an actor can be asked to do in a movie playing multiple versions of Evelyn's husband Waymond Wang. Of course, fans will recognize him as Short Round from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom and as Data from The Goonies and I feel like we can add Waymond to his list of iconic roles and performances.

I know I said finally already but I'm not done yet, there's too many thoughts about this movie and at the same time, I don't want to hype it up too much for you. Please go into this movie with a completely open mind and ready to take in a truly entertaining cinematic experience. This movie is special in so many ways and is one of those movies I could see myself watching multiple times. Okay, for real, that's all from me. Go watch the movie.


The Verdict:
Everything Everywhere All At Once is everything I was hoping it would be and so much more. This might be the wildest, craziest, and most ambitious movie you will watch this year and all of it works. Please go watch this movie in a movie theater and enjoy an experience that includes an iconic performance from Michelle Yeoh who cements her status as an absolute legend.





Thursday, March 31, 2022

Morbius - Movie Review


The Movie: Morbius

The Director: Daniel Espinosa

The Cast: Jared Leto, Jared Harris, Matt Smith, Tyrese Gibson, Michael Keaton, Adria Arjona, Corey Johnson

The Story: Biochemist Michael Morbius tries to cure himself of a rare blood disease, but he inadvertently infects himself with a form of vampirism instead.

Sunday, March 13, 2022

The Cherry Bushido - Movie Review


The Movie: The Cherry Bushido

The Director: Hiroshi Akabane

The Cast: Fumika Shimizu, Hiroaki Tanaka, Rin Kijima, Rina Narita, Ryoma Ichihara, Satoko Ohshima, Kiyoshi Nakajo, Tomiyuki Kunihiro, Tokuma Nishioka

The Story: Shizuka, a college student, is recruited by a group named the "Japan Salvation Conference" for a mission. She and her pals leave their astral bodies and head for the spirit world to face the Great Demon of Hades that aims to destroy Japan.

Turning Red - Movie Review


The Movie: Turning Red

The Director: Domee Shi

The Cast: Rosalie Chiang, Sandra Oh, Ava Morse, Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, Hyein Park, Orion Lee, Wai Ching Ho, James Hong

The Story: A 13-year-old girl named Mei Lee turns into a giant red panda whenever she gets too excited.

Wednesday, February 23, 2022

A Banquet - Movie Review


The Movie: A Banquet

The Director: Ruth Paxton

The Cast: Sienna Guillory, Jessica Alexander, Ruby Stokes, Lindsay Duncan

The Story: Widowed mother Holly is radically tested when her teenage daughter Betsey experiences a profound enlightenment and insists that her body is no longer her own, but in service to a higher power.

Thursday, February 17, 2022

Seobok: Project Clone / 서복 - Movie Review


The Movie: Seobok: Project Clone / 서복

The Director: Lee Yong-ju

The Cast: Gong Yoo, Park Bo-gum, Jo Woo-jin, Jang Young-nam, Park Byung-eun

The Story: Ex intelligence agent Ki Heon is tasked with safely transporting Seo Bok, the first ever human clone, who holds the secret of eternal life. Several forces try to take control of Seo Bok to serve their own agendas.

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Catch the Fair One - Movie Review


The Movie: Catch the Fair One

The Director: Josef Kubota Wladyka

The Cast Kali Reis, Daniel Henshall, Tiffany Chu, Michael Drayer, Shelito Vincent, Lisa Emery, Kimberly Guerrero, and Kevin Dunn

The Story: A former boxer embarks on the fight of her life when she goes in search of her missing sister.

Saturday, February 12, 2022

Moonfall - Movie Review


The Movie: Moonfall

The Director: Roland Emmerich

The Cast: Halle Berry. Patrick Wilson, John Bradley, Michael Peña, Charlie Plummer, Kelly Yu, Eme Ikwuakor, Carolina Bartczak, and Donald Sutherland

The Story: A mysterious force knocks the moon from its orbit around Earth and sends it hurtling on a collision course with life as we know it.

Friday, February 11, 2022

Marry Me - Movie Review


The Movie: Marry Me

The Director: Kat Coiro

The Cast: Jennifer Lopez, Owen Wilson, Maluma, John Bradley, Sarah Silverman

The Story: Music superstars Kat Valdez and Bastian are getting married before a global audience of fans. But when Kat learns, seconds before her vows, that Bastian has been unfaithful, she decides to marry Charlie, a stranger in the crowd, instead.

Thursday, February 10, 2022

I Want You Back - Movie Review


The Movie: I Want You Back

The Director: Jason Orley

The Cast: Charlie Day, Jenny Slate, Scott Eastwood, Manny Jacinto, Clark Backo, Gina Rodriguez, Mason Gooding, Dylan Gelula, Jami Gertz, Isabel May, Luke David Blumm

The Story: Newly dumped thirty-somethings Peter and Emma team up to sabotage their exes' new relationships and win them back for good.

Blacklight - Movie Review


The Movie: Blacklight

The Director: Mark Williams

The Cast: Liam Neeson, Aidan Quinn, Emy Raver-Lapman, Taylor John Smith, Claire van der Boom, Yael Stone, Andrew Shaw

The Story: Travis Block is a government operative coming to terms with his shadowy past. When he discovers a plot targeting U.S. citizens, Block finds himself in the crosshairs of the FBI director he once helped protect.

The Hot List